Club Notes – 01/01/2019

Annual Christmas Draw – The annual Aughawillan Christmas Draw will be held in the Viking Lounge on Saturday 5th January. There’s a total of 15 prizes to be won on the night, including a top prize of €5,000. Tickets are €20 or 3 for €50 & we ask that if possible to please support the draw. Please contact a member of the club’s executive for tickets. Tickets are also available online through this link:

Club Lotto – Results for the draw taken place on December 28th. Numbers drawn: 5, 13, 24, 25. No jackpot winners. €20 winners: 1. Caoimhe Quinn, 2. Eimhin Quinn, 3. Dylan Maguire, Drumreilly, 4. Morgan Quinn, 5. Seamus McGovern, Lisgruddy, 6. Kathleen Maguire, Ballymac, 7. Carmel Christie, Pairc Fe, 8. Niall O’Hara, 9. Sean Prior, Aughoo, 10. Caoimhe Quinn, 11. Darren & Katie Meakin, 12. Breege Campbell McManus, Newtowngore, 13. Tracey & Michael McTague, 14. Collete Flanagan. Next draw will take place in Shortts Bar on Wednesday 9th January. Jackpot €4,200.

Christmas Poker Classic – A massive thank you to all those who attended the Christmas Poker Classic, made sandwiches and donated prizes and to Timmy Winters who ran the Classic. Congratulations to all our winners on the night.

AGM – The AGM was held on Sunday 30th December where 2018 was reflected upon and 2019 was looked forward to. Focus was on the success both our Adult and Underage teams as well as the successful Dublin-Aughawillan Cycle that was held in May. All supports, players and members were thanked for their input and work during the year. Club members that passed away during the year were also remembered.
The executive committee for the coming year is follows: Chairmain: Michael Quinn, Vice-Chairman: Declan McGovern, Secretary: Devin Quinn, Assistant Secretary: Gerard McGovern, Treasurer: Jerome Quinn, Assistant Treasurer: Aisling Maguire, Registrar: Michael Flanagan, Assistant Registrar: Morgan Quinn, PRO: Niamh Kelly, Children’s Officer: Helen McGovern, Coaching Officer: John Mannion. Player’s Rep. and Irish Language & Cultural Officer have been left over. Executive Members: Gerard, McGovern, Paul Bohan, Gene Maguire, Pat Flanagan, Pat Joe McNiffe, Aisling Maguire, Damien Gilheany, Peter Prior, Morgan Quinn Niamh Kelly & Meave Quinn.

Comhghairdeas – Congratulations to Sarah Prior and Mark McKenna on their recent marriage. Congratulations also to Stephen McBrien who got engaged to Niamh McDonald, Blanchsrdstown and Barry McBrien who got engaged to Julie Horgan, Killorglin. We wish many happy and healthy years to all.

New Arrival – Congratulations to Eilish & David Culligan on the birth of their new daughter, Sadhbh, David & Corina O’Hara on the birth of their new daughter Aria and Declan & Tracey Gannon on the birth of their son, Luke.

Comhbhrón – Aughawillan GAA wish to pass on their deepest sympathies to the family and friends of Jim McCabe.

Save the Date – The Dinner Dance to celebrate winning the Senior and Junior B Championships in 2018 is provisionally set for Saturday 9th March in the Slieve Russell Hotel. More information to follow!

For inclusion of any items for the weekly club notes, please email:

About aughawillangaa

Aughawillan GAA is a Gaelic Football Club located in Aughawillan, Co. Leitrim. We cater for all ages and playing levels (Mens, Ladies and Juvenile).
This entry was posted in clubnotes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s