Club Notes – 10/10/2016

Senior County Champions 2016: Aughawillan Abú!! Congratulations to our mighty players, managers, selectors and background staff who have brought us to the County Championship Final and brought us home Senior Champions 2016. To the dedicated players who have given their all this year, whose commitment and dedication to training, improvement and learning has been unyielding since those dark cold days of February. We applaud you!! To Tommy and Joe Mc Cormack, who came to the club with a quiet determination, firm work ethic and a belief they would see the team through to a County final. We applaud you!! To Ciaran Mc Tague and Paul Prior who took on their roles as selectors with calm confidence and steadfast allegiance to the team and club. We applaud you!! To Marie Quinn whose service at every single game is invaluable. We applaud you!! To Christy and Angela Creamer who ensure our team are equipped throughout the year. We applaud you!! In 2014 the taste of success was exhilarating, in 2016 with two wins in three years the taste of success is awe-inspiring, from the children with wonderment on their faces, to the teenagers with respect, to the older generation with tears in their eyes, it is incredible what community spirit, admiration, belief and joy was displayed in Pairc Seán on Sunday. Congratulations to our Players; Colin Maguire, Declan Mc Govern, Noel Plunkett, Fionnbarr Quinn, Michael Quinn, Barry Prior, Seán Quinn, Pearce Dolan, Seán Fox, Morgan Quinn, Niall Beirne, Michael Prior, Stephen Gilheaney, Gary Plunkett, Ciarán Gilheany, Fergal Mc Tague, Paul Prior, Mark Plunkett, Rory Mc Tague, Seán Flanagan, Kieran O’Haire, Ronan Maxwell, Kevin Mc Tague, Jason Prior, Peter Prior, Devin Quinn, John Gilheaney, Gerard Mc Govern, Paul Prior.

Our thanks to Niall O’Hara for the transport and warm welcome home. Many thanks to Karen and Sheán from The Standing Stone and Kathryn at Jackies Bar for a wonderful welcome and outstanding service on County Final Day.

Date for your Diary: It’s not over the Connacht Club Semi Final will take place on 13th November 2016. Aughawillan as Senior County Champions will take on the Roscommon Senior County Champions.

Aughawillan / Drumreilly Lotto held in the BallyMac Inn on Wednesday the 4 October 2016. Numbers drawn: 15,25,19,28. No Jackpot winner.

1. Teresa Mc Cabe, Tullywaum, Corlough

2. Caoimhe Quinn, Lisgruddy

3. Devin Creamer, Ballinamore

4. Eimear Mc Glade, Gorvagh, Mohill

5. Philip Roddy, Aughnasheelin

6. Michael Gilheanny, Clogher

7. Sean O’Donnell, Raheny, Dublin 5

Next draw in Gorby’s on Wednesday 19 October 2016. Jackpot €2,300.

Pick a Winner: Congratulations to Anton Brennan, Aughavas, Pio Mc Tague, Dublin and Prior,Corraleehan who won the pick a square competition.

O’Neills Sports Merchandise: Aughawillan GAA sports clothes are available on O’Neills Online Shop, Worldwide delivery available. Follow the Link:

Aughawillan GAA Facebook: To catch up on pictures, news articles and radio interviews of the 2016 County Championship final please like and share our Facebook page.

Comhghairdeas: Warmest congratulations to our neighbours Sean O’Heslins who won the Intermediate County Final. We are looking forward to next year’s Championship already.

Combhrón: Aughawillan GAA wish to sympathise with Mary, Caroline, Theresa, Helen, Denise and Catherine and the entire Breen family on the death of Eileen Breen, Aughawillan. Ar dheis de go raibh a h-anam.

About aughawillangaa

Aughawillan GAA is a Gaelic Football Club located in Aughawillan, Co. Leitrim. We cater for all ages and playing levels (Mens, Ladies and Juvenile).
This entry was posted in clubnotes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s