Aughawillan pull off shock victory

Aughawillan pull off shock victory

Aughawillan 1-13 St Mary’s 1-10
Appearing in their first Leitrim senior final in 20 years, a determined Aughawillan side surprised holders St Mary’s in an entertaining game in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Aughawillan led 0-9 to 0-4 at half-time after St Mary’s went 0-3 to 0-2 ahead with points by James McGrail, Jack de Lacy and Daire Farrell in the opening 14 minutes.

Aughawillan had a let-off when Ray Mulvey blazed a 15th-minute chance wide, with no one to beat but keeper Colin Maguire.

It seemed to drive Aughawillan on and they stretched their lead in the first seven minutes of the second half, after Gary Plunkett and Morgan Quinn hit the target from play.

St Mary’s hit back as Robbie Lowe fired home a 38th-minute goal that reduced Aughawillan’s advantage to four points. Over the next nine minutes, St Mary’s cut the deficit to two with Ray Mulvey putting over three points and Alan Doherty converting a free. St Mary’s had a chance to grab the lead three minutes from the end when sub Joseph O’Rourke hit a piledriver that rebounded to safety off the butt of the Aughawillan upright.

After that, Aughawillan surged again and won a 58th- minute penalty which Sean Flanagan converted after man of the match Gary Plunkett was taken down by James Glancy, who received a black card for the foul.

Scorers for Aughawillan: C Gilheaney (0-5, 3fs), G Plunkett (0-4), S Flanagan (1-0), M Plunkett, Morgan Quinn (0-2 each).

Scorers for St Mary’s: R Lowe (1-1), R Mulvey (0-3), J de Lacy, J McGrail, D Farrell, M McWeeney, A Doherty (f), J O’Rourke (0-1 each).

AUGHAWILLAN: C Maguire; D McGovern, Michael Quinn, G McGovern; N Beirne, N Plunkett, S Quinn; S Fox, S Flanagan; R McTague, M Plunkett, P Dolan; C Gilheaney, G Plunkett, Morgan Quinn.

Subs: S Gilheaney for D McGovern (34), B Creamer for McTague (59)

ST MARY’S: C Glancy; B Butler, J Glancy, J Cassidy; J de Lacy, C Farrell, N McWeeney; J McGrail, D Lowe; C Cunniffe, B O’Donnell, D Farrell; R Mulvey, M McWeeney, C O’Reilly.

Subs: R Lowe for C Farrell (20), A Doherty for D Farrell (ht), C McWeeney for D Lowe (53), J O’Rourke for M McWeeney, N Commerton for O’Reilly (53), R Lowe for Glancy (bc, 61).

Referee: J McCaffrey (Aughawillan).

About aughawillangaa

Aughawillan GAA is a Gaelic Football Club located in Aughawillan, Co. Leitrim. We cater for all ages and playing levels (Mens, Ladies and Juvenile).
This entry was posted in mediaarticles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s